Search Unity

SpriteSheet Trilinear Filter Issues

Discussion in '2D' started by Akini, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Hey,
    im new to Unity. I have a problem with the SpriteSheet Filter. It seems, that the Trilinear Filter is bad on the SpriteSheet. Why is that so? The Edge is Blurry in The SpriteSheet but not in the Single File. I sliced it correctly.
    fehler.png
    Thx for any help
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    needs more padding.
     
  3. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for your reply.Added really big paddings. Still have the Problem with the trilinear filter. tesat.png
     
  4. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    no it needs to be padded without alpha, ie filling the clear areas with boundary pixels - try ticking Alpha Is Transparency option in texture import too.
     
  5. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Sry, i dont know where do you mean in the Graphics Editor?? I Use free Images. Or can i make this in Unity?, when yes where?
     
  6. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Unity texture asset. Click the texture.
     
  7. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Sry, i really dont find it.I have Opened the Texture in unity and there is not such an option. :(
     
  8. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723


    Try advanced?
     
  9. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Thx. The Option Alpha Is Transparency is Selected. I tried a bit. No Improvement.
     
  10. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    fehlerextended.png

    Any other suggestions?? Would be great, because i dont know how to fix this.
     
  11. imaginaryhuman

    imaginaryhuman

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    5,834
    Firstly, a bilinear or trilinear filter applies to the fragments INSIDE the bounds of the geometry. It doesn't have anything to do with any pixels outside of the bounds of the object, and it doesn't make the edges of geometry smooth on the outside either. If there are still gaps with bilinear, trilinear, or no filtering, then it maybe has to do with the coordinates being slightly off, the objects maybe not being quite wide enough, maybe some floating point rounding error, etc. Because if you have enough padding and the geometry is overlapping each other a little bit there shouldn't be gaps.
     
  12. Akini

    Akini

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    The gaps are in the bounds. There are no gaps with no filtering ( Points). With a single sprite it works fine, but not with a spritesheet
     
  13. imaginaryhuman

    imaginaryhuman

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    5,834
    Are you on mac or windows? I've noticed some gaps before between different platforms and had to a sort of per-platform hack to fix it.