Search Unity

SpaceScape: tool for creating space skyboxes with stars and

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by runningbird, Sep 24, 2010.

1. runningbird

runningbird

2. Ayce

Ayce

Trying to get it now. 3rd attempt. Both tries before gave me damaged/corrupted or incomplete archives. :(

Looks good though. I tried making a nice night skybox, but it came out ugly. Looked good in psp though.

O.K. finally got a good download, going to try it soon and will report. :D

3. mikesgames

mikesgames

looks funky!

I am gonna try it out now :)

4. Ayce

Ayce

Well, that's cool. :D

Looks real nice when creating skies, but may take a bit of work to get nicer ones for real use.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/code]

As you can see, there are visible seams, which may take some work to get rid of. Of course this is my first try, so maybe I can do better.
    Looks great in game, 'cause "He who stops to look at stars, loses the race." :D

5. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

I'm guessing some of the maps need to be rotated to not have seams with unity.

6. Ayce

Ayce

I switched the front and back and got rid of the side seams, which is O.K. enough for now, as I don't look up while driving, anyway. :)

7. Caliber-Mengsk

Caliber-Mengsk

I don't know if it's just me, but I had to swap the left and right images when making the skybox in unity.

EDIT:
    I should say that besides that, it works great.

8. Ayce

Ayce

Yep, I did that as well, switched front/back and left/right. Now the only seam visible is on the top. I tried switching top/bottom, but that didn't help.

Works great as long as you do that, and don't make your stars too big, under 3 seems best, and keep the noise down.

9. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

If you swapped the left and right side panels, chances are you have to rotate or mirror the top texture file in order for it to work.

10. oblivionfeet

oblivionfeet