Search Unity

Space Shooter Code Issues

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by cinefyl, Mar 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cinefyl

cinefyl

Hello, I am a new Unity student, and I decided to start with the space shooter project as my first. It went smoothly enough, up until part 06 - Moving the player. I wrote the code the video and website said to, and got the following errors:

• Assets/_scripts/PlayerController.cs(24,25): error CS1525: Unexpected symbol `}', expecting `)', `,', or `;'
    • Assets/_scripts/PlayerController.cs(28,24): error CS1547: Keyword `void' cannot be used in this context
    • Assets/_scripts/PlayerController.cs(28,25): error CS1525: Unexpected symbol `(', expecting `)', `,', `;', `[', or `='
    I've got the code attached, so if anyone can tell me what's wrong and how to fix it I would really appreciate it.

Attached Files:

2. Socrates

Socrates

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3.    [System.Serializable]
    4.    public class Boundary
    5. {
    6.    public float xMin, xMax, zMin, zMax;
    7. }
    8. public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour
    9. {
    10.    public float speed;
    11.    public float tilt;
    12.    public Boundary boundary;
    13.    public GameObject shot;
    14.    public Transform shotSpawn;
    15.    public float fireRate;
    16.    private float nextFire;
    18.    void Update()
    19.    {
    20.      if (Input.GetButton("Fire1") && Time.time > nextFire)
    21.        {
    22.          nextFire = Time.time + fireRate;
    23.          GameObject clone = Instantiate(shot, shotSpawn.position, shotSpawn.rotation)as GameObject
    24.        }
    25.      Instantiate(shot, shotSpawn.position, shotSpawn.rotation);
    26.    }