Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

"Space" Open World / RPG Project

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Sollthar, Oct 18, 2010.

1. Sollthar

Sollthar

Hi everyone

I'm relatively new to unity. I've come to the point where I'd really like to shape up a game idea I've had for a while and this is the beginning. The idea is about as follows:

- A completely open and non-linear universe with different planets, anomalies and 5 factions in control of those
    - No linear story, just a world that offers the player different possibilities to get to the goal: rule the universe
    - Several different ways to achieve that goal: Military, Politically or Economically
    - An event system that will, sometimes, create random events the player can chose to react to (some small that can be solved within seconds, some large that might force a player to change his course)
    - All of this will be played in a 3rd person perspective, no matter if you're aboard your big ship, inside a small fighter fighting space battles or beaming down to a planet in order to trade, interact, do missions or fight and conquer a world.
    - Each faction will make decisions to attack, trade, invent or intrigue and each faction will have a couple of returning characters that will all act independently, so will the planets belonging to each faction.
    - The Player can hire and fire crewmembers with different jobs, trade with different times, research new items, interact with faction leaders, characters and his own crew, fight huge star cruisers, engage in space battles or ground battles, help those in need or enslave them.