Search Unity

[SOLVED] 2d pyramid of square bends on impact

Discussion in '2D' started by crouzilles, Nov 22, 2015.

1. crouzilles

crouzilles

Hi guys,

I believe this may be my first post on this forum, so hello all. I am an ex programmer working in Learning & Development, but I am still very much hooked to coding. I discovered Unity 2 weeks ago now, I have been watching tutorials and reading documents to assimilate as much info as possible.

On to the problem. I have a 2D project, within which I have a pyramid made of squares. A ball falls upon the pyramid and the problem is that the pyramid bends.

Now to show you what I mean, I recorded a short video which is available in the attached video.

If you could let me know how to stop the bending from occurring, it would be great

Regards
    Crouz

2. MelvMay

MelvMay

Unity Technologies

This is Box2D. Box2D uses impulse forces to solve the simulation. These impulse forces are calculated using the number of iterations you specify in the Physics2D settings. You can increase the number of iterations to help get to a more accurate solution quicker however there are also a few things that this won't resolve.

One of the most important ones is when you're using large relative masses. Box2D recommends you use no more than a 1:10 mass ratio i.e. don't have a mass of 50 colliding with a mass of 1. Keep the colliding masses as close as possible. In most cases, it doesn't matter that much but, especially in stacking situations like you have here, it can.

There's also the Baumgarte settings (one for non-continuous col-det and one for continuous col-det) here:
    http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics2D-baumgarteScale.html
    http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics2D-baumgarteTOIScale.html