Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Software development methodology

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inafield, Nov 21, 2014.

1. inafield

inafield

Purely curious, what methodologies (Agile or otherwise) do you use? What has been your experience?

My day job is a highly responsive custom code company that is trying to become a product company, and we're moving from a very chaotic waterfall model to scrum over the past 6-10 months. We're seeing some benefits but management has to make some tough decisions to really support it. Culture change takes time too. I'd have to say that Scrum master training doesn't prepare you for implementing it and working with managers that are terrified of letting go of control.

2. Wigen

Wigen

We use agile/scrum at my day job. but as for game dev, agile or even using a style of lean development. I haven't seen waterfall work now a days. Management always screws waterfall up. going full scrum can and will be extremely hard for management... and after you get your daily meeting/priority meetings/estimation meetings done at a good pace you will see how beneficial for the entire company it is. either way its a huge cultural switch from waterfall.

I don't see managers losing control in scrum though, that doesn't make sense? they set the priorities, they are fully in control of what gets done and when it gets done and when it goes to production. if anything they are more in control. I mean waterfall promotes large periods of bad decisions that will need to get fixed at the end of the waterfall sprint which will require developers to sit under the desk and sleep their 2 hours to get their work done in time.

3. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla