Search Unity

So... Networking...

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Nihil688, Nov 10, 2014.

1. Nihil688

Nihil688

Hello, I am kinda new to the Networking concept. I have so far managed to use Unity's master server functionality and created a local network with RPCs being sent properly. I did this by creating one server on one computer and a client on a mobile and vice versa.

When I try to connect from a different network I get nat punchthroughs errors and even though the client finds the server it can't connect.

I tried changing the ip before the server is instantiated and couldnt ever get the server to commence.

Is there anything that I am missing? All I want is one user to become server and the other a client so they can send messages between themselves.

I started looking into Photon, uLink and Google Play Game Services but I am not sure what to use. I do lean towards the latter as it's free.

Any tips? Best

2. Nihil688

Nihil688

3. FuzzyQuills

FuzzyQuills

Well, I am presuming you're using Unity Networking for this, So first, a checklist:
    • How are you trying to connect? If it is through a custom Master Server, I can give a more detailed explanation on how to set one up correctly. If you're using Unity's default server, then everything, so long as you have a network connection to the internet, should work straight away. Note that your code has to point to the URL for your master server when using a custom one.
    • If however, you are using LAN, you will have to make a part of your script show the IP and port. In the part where the client connects, add fields for entering the IP and port, then your client can connect directly. Another way is UDP broadcast, but this is disabled in Unity free mobile, and is also an advanced subject, going by my knowledge.
    There is how connections work, in a nutshell. As for your problem...