Search Unity

Simple controller code for moving around

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Crayox, Dec 21, 2014.

1. Crayox

Crayox

Hi guys,
    I have been searching for the simplest code to control my camera/character but couldn't find it.

I'm a 3d visualization artist so this is very new to me. I just need my camera to walk around my interiors or exteriors and be controlled by mouse for panning and "wasd" for moving.

Here are my attempts...
    Code (CSharp):
    1. float rotationMouseX, rotationMouseY;
    3.         rotationMouseX = Input.GetAxis ("Mouse X") * sensitivity;
    4.         rotationMouseY = Input.GetAxis ("Mouse Y") * sensitivity;
    6.         rotationX += rotationMouseX;
    7.         rotationY += rotationMouseY;
    9.         float movementForward = Input.GetAxis("Vertical") * speed;
    10.         float movementSide = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") * speed;
    11.         Vector3 totalMovement = new Vector3(movementSide,0.0f, movementForward);
    14.         rigidbody.rotation = Quaternion.Euler (-rotationY, rotationX,0.0f);
    15.         //transform.Translate (movementSide,0.0f,movementForward);
    16.         rigidbody.velocity= totalMovement;
    17.         //rigidbody.velocity = new Vector3 (0.0f, 0.0f,movementSide);
    I tried several ways, and finally translate.forward for rigidbody.velocity made my camera go where it was pointed at, but couldn't use that for strafing with "a,d" or left/right arrows. Also if I use transform.translate I can't use collisions as I understand, and I need those too.

For my character I am using a camera with capsule collider and rotation restraints so it doesn't fall over - is that the best way for this? I need collisions, as sometimes I'll have exteriors and need my character go up and down the street, or up the stairs etc.

Thanks in advance.

2. MathiasDG

MathiasDG

Code (CSharp):
    2.         float speed = 5;