Search Unity

Should I use Unity's networking or not?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by AzraelKans, May 8, 2010.

1. AzraelKans

AzraelKans

Im trying to create a new unity multiplayer game, these are my desired features for this sports game (sort of)

*is meant to be stand alone for windows/mac (iPhone in the future)

*Players should join in a lobby, chat with each other via text (or voice if possible) then go into a 3 minute game.

*Only 6 players are allowed per lobby/game.

*You must be able to play online or in a lan. I have a master server of my own (called shadi)

Now, what option would be best for my case? Ive heard the current unity network is not functional, so Im tempted with Photon but it seems expensive. ($100 per month)

If I decided to go for my own implementation of Raknet what is the first step to make? also raknet is not a managed dll so Im not sure how to call it from unity.

2. Creative

Creative

Yes, as an experienced RakNet user, I suggest you.

3. AzraelKans

AzraelKans

Ok So I should use raknet, but where do I start? can I just call raknet as a dll from c#?

4. Creative

Creative

5. Thomas-Lund

Thomas-Lund

Can also take a look at SmartFoxServer - and the 4 example projects that I released for the Unity API.

Might be somewhat easier and higher level to work with.

Example 2+3 have lobby and chat premade for you.

/Thomas

6. AzraelKans

AzraelKans

7. AzraelKans

AzraelKans

Thank you, but could smart fox work in an stand alone product for macs?

8. Kaiserludi

Kaiserludi

The Photon license costs are one time per server, not monthly.

9. nevaran

nevaran