Search Unity

Should I soley focus all my development efforts on Unity C# Scripting Language?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by frekiidoochmanz, Feb 9, 2016.

1. frekiidoochmanz

frekiidoochmanz

I was considering splitting up time from using visual code tools such as PlayMaker and such. And combine them with my C# scripts.

And then today I just realized how powerful scripting is when I passed a method inside of a player class which was assigned as a component to a player game object class as a.... member class? anyway im no coder but this got me thinking how insanely powerful this is:

Code (csharp):
    2. var somevar = whatever;
    5. GameObject blah = new GameObject("Blah");
    8. Blah.AddComponent<some_class_Script>();
    10. Blah.GetComponent<some_class_Script>().<some_variable> = Blah.GetComponent<some_class_Script>().MethodCall(somevar_passed);
    edit: (addeed code tag)
    returning this new <some_variable> inside this game object blah as a variable created within this other class manager class.

I mean this is pretty intense stuff. And I only just realized it. But now I just realized how... garbage my visual scripting tools are?????

If someone could let me know what the right way to manage my time (limited) would be when using Unity i'll just focus on C# scriptingm 10000% instead of wasting any more time hitting my head over the specific ruleset usages of various visual scripting tools.

Thank you...

Last edited: Feb 9, 2016
  2. bigmisterb

bigmisterb

Code (csharp):
    2. var somevar = whatever;
    3. GameObject blah = new GameObject("Blah");
    4. SomeClassScript script = blah.AddComponent<SomeClassScript>();
    5. script.someVariable = script.MethodCall(somevar);
    You are right, it is powerful, but to get it straight, stop thinking of everything together, but start thinking in terms of objects.

I simplified the script by thinking of script as the SomeClassScript, instead of going and getting it 3 times. ;)

3. StarManta

StarManta