Search Unity

Shooting RigidBody2d Projectile in the direction of movement

Discussion in '2D' started by LionFische, Jan 27, 2016.

1. LionFische

LionFische

Hi, I have a Player Character on a 2D plane. He can move in all directions. I have scripted so that he can launch a projectile. At the moment I am using the following code to launch.

Code (CSharp):
    1. projectileInstance.AddForce(Launcher.right * projectileSpeed);
    I would however like to be able to launch in the direction the player object is moving. I'm not sure where to go with this and was wondering if some good solutions exist. I'm relatively new to Unity so am unfamiliar with most of it's functions.

Full Script:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class LaunchProjectile : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     public Rigidbody2D projectile;
    8.     public Transform Launcher;
    10.     public float projectileSpeed = 5000f;
    12.     // Use this for initialization
    13.     void Start () {
    15.     }
    17.     // Update is called once per frame
    18.     void Update () {
    19.         if (Input.GetButtonDown ("Fire1"))
    20.         {  
    21.             Rigidbody2D projectileInstance;  
    22.             projectileInstance = Instantiate(projectile, Launcher.position, Launcher.rotation) as Rigidbody2D;
    24.             projectileInstance.AddForce(Launcher.right * projectileSpeed);
    25.         }      
    26.     }      
    27. }

Thanks,
    2h

2. LiterallyJeff

LiterallyJeff

If your player is always facing the direction he's moving, then you can do the same thing with the player.

(Using the "right" property or X axis here for example)

Code (CSharp):
    1. Vector2 directionalForce = player.transform.right * projectileSpeed;

If your player character is using a RigidBody to move, you can use the velocity property to do something like this:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public float force;