Search Unity

[ShaderLab + Multi-Material] Making previous material invisible

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Hotdug, Feb 8, 2016.

1. Hotdug

Hotdug

I've been trying to figure out how to make a shader to do this the whole weekend but I can't do it.

Say that I have a cube with a material that uses the Standard shader. A texture is being shown.

Now what I want to do is add a second material to this cube, which uses my own shader that renders the cube invisible.

So: The second material should (with its shader) make the pixels written by the previous material invisible.

I have to be able to do this with multiple materials without modifying the previous material or the shader that the previous material uses.

All I've been able to do is make the cube completely black. I've tried a billion different blend combinations, nothing is right. Granted I'm new to ShaderLab but it feels like I should have been able to figure this out... I should just be able to write a transparent color, right? Throw away anything that was previously in those pixels?

Please help me!

2. jvo3dc

jvo3dc

No that's not really possible like that. The GPU doesn't keep a layered document like photoshop in its memory.

The easiest way to make something invisible is to just not render it. There is a per pixel option using grabpass, but I would not advice that because of performance. So the question is, if you don't want to render it, why are you rendering it?

3. Hotdug

Hotdug

What I'm ultimately is trying to achieve is a mask that I want to be able to use on any GameObject (using two shaders).

My plan is to put a GameObject in front of another. The one in front will have 1 material using my first shader. It marks everything it renders into the stencil buffer and then, well, not actually render anything.