Search Unity

Setting boundaries for movement

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by DanC4217, Apr 27, 2015.

1. DanC4217

DanC4217

So, I'm completely new to scripting, C# and Unity in general, and I got this piece of code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     public float Speed = 10;
    7.     public float StrafeSpeed = 5;
    9.     bool TouchingWalls = false;
    12.     void Update ()
    13.     {
    14.         transform.Translate (Vector3.forward * Speed * Time.deltaTime);
    16.         if (Input.GetKey (KeyCode.D) && TouchingWalls == false)
    17.             transform.Translate (new Vector3(1, 0f, 0f) * StrafeSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
    18.         if (Input.GetKey (KeyCode.A) && TouchingWalls == false)
    19.             transform.Translate (new Vector3(-1, 0f, 0f) * StrafeSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
    20.     }
    22.     void OnTriggerEnter(Collider other)
    23.     {
    24.         if (other.gameObject.CompareTag ("Stage"))
    25.             print ("I'm touching a wall");
    26.             TouchingWalls = true;
    27.     }
    28. }
    What I want to do is to make it so that my player isn't able to move a direction (in this case left or right) once it touches a wall (Tagged "Stage"), which I've already done, but say, once it touches the left wall, it then isn't able to move left or right. I want the player to be able to move right is it's touching the left wall and viceversa. I'm not very bright so what I've thought is each wall having a different tag, but I reckon that wouldn't be very good.

The game is some sort of 3D infinite runner, so he moves forward by default. Also, I want to say that I'm aware I could be using GetAxis, custom functions and probably more stuff that would be more efficient, but for now this is only to practice scripting and I want to solve my problem with what I'm using (if there's even a way).