Search Unity

Rotating a turret/sentry gun

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by pauliina, Jan 28, 2016.

1. pauliina

pauliina

Hi! I think this is a fairly simple thing to solve, but I'm fairly new to programming, so I need a bit of help on the way. I have a turret/sentry gun that I want to spin 90 degrees, then stop and spin back 90 degrees, and then stop and spin back and so on and so on.

I'm thinking that maybe it would be something like, when it's 90 degrees, change direction, when it's 180, change direction again but the opposite way, or something? I tried just using Rotate first, but with that it spins all the way around, no matter what numbers I put in. Because online a lot of people say you can just write
    transform.Rotate(90,0,0); but that doesn't work as it never stops spinning.

It should be pretty much like the sentry guns in the different Call of Duty games have when they're NOT shooting (ie, when they're just spinning). It was really hard to find a video where you can see it properly, because in most videos they're shooting obviously, but something like this (fast forward to like 17 seconds in):

Thanks in advance!

2. StarManta

StarManta

It's much easier to use an animation for this than scripting.

3. pauliina

pauliina

Oh, hmm. I can't animate things though. Isn't there some way of doing it with code? It doesn't have to look perfect, as long as it does the job.

4. StarManta

StarManta

Why not? If you mean you don't have animation software, yes you do - this level of animation is easily made iwhtin Unity.

5. pauliina

pauliina

Oh, you can? I didn't think of that. I guess I'll search around for some tutorials for that, then! Thanks! But is that easier/better/quicker than scripting it? If so, why?

6. StarManta

StarManta