Search Unity

Rotate/Lerp Gameobject 90 degrees?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by turbosheep, Mar 27, 2015.

1. turbosheep

turbosheep

Alright, I'm new to this stuff and the internet is confusing me pretty hard. You have Euler Angles, Quaternions; one uses degrees, the other radians, you should use lerp, slerp, lookat, you can't set pivots manually without parent objects... etc.

What I want to do is gradually rotate a gameobject around its pivot point 90 degrees clockwise in Z whenever I press a key. It's like a Tetris block.

I'm really looking for a short, simple explanation so I understand what I'm doing and to avoid further confusion. Help would really be appreciated! Thanks!

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

See the Rotation function here.

--Eric

3. turbosheep

turbosheep

Thank you! I tried using this in the update() function:

Code (CSharp):
    1. //Rotate pathblock 90 degrees clock-wise
    2.     void RotatePathblock()
    3.     {
    4.         //pathblock.transform.Rotate(0,0,90f);
    5.         //Pivot has to be the same as the middle of the block that the mouse pointer is on... since all blocks are the same size, this pivot point is min. cell+width/2 in x, and minus in y.
    6.         Vector3 degrees = new Vector3(0,0,90f);
    7.         Quaternion start = pathblock.transform.rotation;
    8.         Quaternion end = start * Quaternion.Euler(degrees);
    9.         float duration = 500f;
    10.         float rate = 1.0f/duration;
    11.         float t = 0.0f;
    13.         while(t < 1.0)
    14.         {
    15.             t += Time.deltaTime * rate;
    16.             pathblock.transform.rotation = Quaternion.Slerp(start, end, t);
    17.         }
    18.     }