Search Unity

Rolling a Ball

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by VoidHavoc, Sep 22, 2014.

1. VoidHavoc

VoidHavoc

Hey guys, I'm new to Unity and programming in general, but I have a good understanding how things work and how they fit together. I had some previous programming experience and played around a lot with Map Editors, but never have I delved this deep into programming. So far I have made 2 functional games in C# with the help of Unity tutorials found all over the internet. However I'm having a hard time making a ball roll in certain directions, whether it's being pushed, bumps into something and or rolling down hill. I don't want to add a player controller script to it and make it roll by pressing buttons, I want it to react to it's surroundings. How can I go about this? Can anyone assist me with this please? I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance!! :)

2. N1warhead

N1warhead

perhaps add a Rigidbody > make sure Gravity is enabled and it should just roll everywhere to the weakest point... Such as down hill.

Guessing that's what you wanted? Elaboration a bit more would help.

3. VoidHavoc

VoidHavoc

Thanks for the reply, that seemed to have worked, last time I had a script attached to it which made it function weird. I have no idea why I tried adding a script to the object to make it move, but in my mind I thought it needed to be moved with forces or collisions such as in the tutorial "Roll-a-Ball" found on Unity. But now the thing is, how do I make the ball react to impact, such as being fired on from one direction sending the ball flying/moving in the opposite direction.

4. N1warhead

N1warhead

You're welcome.