Search Unity

rigidbody2d.velocity = new Vector2.... // Explain it like I'm 5, please?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by zeropoint101, Nov 22, 2014.

1. zeropoint101

zeropoint101

So I'm new to coding and new to Unity. My question is about understanding how to code, and understanding the concepts and syntax, rather than about how to actually accomplish this behavior. If I want to keep make my sprite move to the right when the game starts, I can do something like this... and please remember, I'm just doing/asking it this way to understand the code. I know it's not the best way.

void Update ()
    {
    rigidbody2D.velocity = new Vector2(4, 0);
    }

Here is where I get confused/have questions, and I'm not even sure if I know how to ask properly, so hopefully someone will understand...

My first thought was, if this is a property of the rigidbody2D component, why can't I just write something like...

rigidbody2D.velocity = (4,0)

I'm kind of starting to understand why that doesn't work, but I can't get to a full understanding of it and it's frustrating me.

Instead of continuing to write a bunch of "what ifs", I'll just leave it at this and maybe someone can help...

2. hpjohn

hpjohn

The velocity property of the rb2d requires a Vector2.
    You have to say = newVector2(4,0) so that it can allocate a new piece of memory to hold the 2 values of x and y (its calling the constructor of the vector2 struct, taking 2 float parameters)

davidxxx likes this.
  3. koray1396

koray1396

okay, for start you should get the habit of using script reference pages. from there you can see that rigidbody2D.velocity requires Vector2. such as transform.position holds a value of Vector3, and transform.rotation is a Quaternion.

now, the right hand side value type must match the left hand value type. rigidbody2D.velocity is a Vector2, but right hand side is undefined. For now it is ok to know that to declare a Vector2, you should be using new Vector2(...).

davidxxx likes this.