Search Unity

Rigid bodies behaving unexpectedly

Discussion in '2D' started by prattfall, Oct 9, 2015.

1. prattfall

prattfall

I am still learning the basics and I've obviously misunderstood something about the way the physics works. In order to test the way my main sprite moves, I set up a temporary box to contain it, made of four rectangular sprites. (This is top-down 2d.) I stuck on a rigid body and a box collider on each, set the gravity scales to 0 and bouncy box material to the colliders. The mass on all objects is 1. The first thing was the box came apart. My sprite doesn't move unless I add force to it, so why are the box sides moving? There is no force acting on any of them. (Or, if there is, why isn't it also acting on the sprite?) And, incidentally, the same thing happens if I set gravity scale to 1 on each of them - e.g. the top side flies upwards, regardless of the gravity setting. The same thing still happens if friction is set to 1. (I've also tried changing the physic material for the ground - made no difference.) I solved this pro tem by removing the rigid body component on each of the box sides, but clearly I'm not understanding something very basic about the physics. Second, my sprite (which has the same settings on its rigid body and colliders) sails right through the box. (This happens whether I have the rigid body on the box or not.) Haven't yet found a solution for the sprite passing through the box, but I'm really looking for explanations for what is happening rather than ad hoc work-arounds. I know these are basic questions.Thanks for your patience!

Update: my sprite is now unaccountably moving also (which is at least consistent, but still confusing. And in my main scene, I have no apparent problems with it). I have removed all script from the sprite and from everything else in the scene. Everything with a rigid body and a collider, so long as the "is trigger" checkbox is not checked, slides away in a direction away from the origin.