Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Request: C# Script for Opening Doors

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Rockinator, Jul 25, 2014.

1. Rockinator

Rockinator

I'm a complete novice with scripting and their is much for me to learn; for right now I wanted to start with something simple like opening and closing doors. What I am requesting is a script that will open a door with a few conditions that are adjustable within the editor.

when a key is pressed it will open the door, if the door is already opened the same key will close the door. I would also like for the script to allow me the flexibility to allow me to change what animations I would like to use by dragging said animations into the editor. One last thing, I would like for the script to allow me the use of keys (like an iron key, in game item) if possible, I would just have difficulty trying to understand how to get the game to recall if said item was collected by the player. Like I said, I am a complete novice!

Thanks in advance for the assistance! Oh, I would like to reference your script if you so wish it! Thanks!

2. SubZeroGaming

SubZeroGaming

Here's the pseudo code:

//bool for door open
    //int for key

//if key is pressed and key >= 1
    //OpenDoor() //function to open/close door

void OpenDoor()
    {
    //if doorOpen = true
    //animation to close door (animation.Play)
    //doorOpen = false;
    else
    //animation to open door
    //doorOpen = true;
    }

I hope nobody just spoon feeds you. This is a very simple logic task to complete.

Best of luck,

Jon

raycosantana and landon912 like this.
  3. Rockinator

Rockinator

it is simple logic for one who understands how to formulate code though I can see this logic in what you wrote but practical application is a different story. I appreciate the assist.

SubZeroGaming likes this.