Search Unity

[DEPRECATED] UnityCar 2.2 Pro. The most complete and accurate vehicle sim on Unity3D

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by newlife, May 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meceka

    Meceka

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Posts:
    423
    Hello, if i purchase unitycar pro now, as I understand I will receive untiycar pro 3, am I correct?

    And what about unitycar 3 enterprise update? Will it be a different package in asset store? If so, will there be an "upgrade" option to upgrade from unitycar pro to unitycar enterprice with paying the price difference?

    Thanks.
     
  2. valyk90

    valyk90

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    hi i have a question when unitycar exchange from PC to android city is too white too much light???
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    114
    Try to change wheel radius
     
  4. winkan

    winkan

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    Modeller fixed the problem, it wasn't related to unity..
     
  5. mantekkerz

    mantekkerz

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    111
    Has anyone had any luck assigning wheels at runtime?

    I've been testing it and I'm struggling a bit. I'm instantiating a rigged car, then spawning a new wheel prefab, at the position of the current wheel. Then I remove the old wheel, and try to assign the new wheel to the axles script. But for some reason- it just doesn't assign it from what I see in inspector, but I don't get any error relating to this bit of code.

    Here's some test code I've been using, in a empty scene:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    4.  
    5. public class WheelShopTest : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     public GameObject carTest;
    7.  
    8.     // Use this for initialization
    9.     void Start () {
    10.  
    11.             carTest = (GameObject)Instantiate(Resources.Load("Cars/RX7/RX7"),new Vector3(0, 0, 0), Quaternion.Euler(0, 0, 0));
    12.     }
    13.    
    14.     // Update is called once per frame
    15.     void Update () {
    16.    
    17.     }
    18.     void OnGUI() {
    19.         if (GUI.Button (new Rect (0, 0, 150, 108), "Change Wheel")) {
    20.  
    21.             // Get position of current wheel
    22.             GameObject WheelFL = GameObject.Find("WheelFL");
    23.             float newWheelFLposX = WheelFL.transform.position.x;
    24.             float newWheelFLposY = WheelFL.transform.position.y;
    25.             float newWheelFLposZ = WheelFL.transform.position.z;
    26.  
    27.  
    28.             // Spawn holding GameObject, Remove mesh
    29.             GameObject newWheelFL;
    30.             newWheelFL = (GameObject)Instantiate(Resources.Load("Wheels/1"),new Vector3(newWheelFLposX, newWheelFLposY, newWheelFLposZ), Quaternion.Euler(0, 0, 0));
    31.             Destroy(WheelFL);
    32.             newWheelFL.name = "WheelFL";
    33.             newWheelFL.transform.parent = carTest.transform;
    34.             newWheelFL.GetComponentInChildren<Renderer>().enabled = false;
    35.             newWheelFL.AddComponent<Wheel>();
    36.  
    37.             // Spawn model mesh
    38.             GameObject newWheelModelFL;
    39.             newWheelModelFL = (GameObject)Instantiate(Resources.Load("Wheels/1"),new Vector3(newWheelFLposX, newWheelFLposY, newWheelFLposZ), Quaternion.Euler(0, 0, 0));
    40.             newWheelModelFL.name = "WheelFL";
    41.             newWheelModelFL.transform.parent = newWheelFL.transform;
    42.  
    43.             Destroy(carTest.GetComponent<Axles>());
    44.             carTest.AddComponent<Axles>();
    45.             // Assign wheel model into Wheel Script
    46.             Wheel wheel = newWheelFL.GetComponent<Wheel>();
    47.             wheel.model = newWheelModelFL;
    48.            
    49.            
    50.             // Assign wheel into Axle Script
    51.             Axles axles = carTest.GetComponent<Axles>();
    52.             axles.frontAxle.leftWheel = newWheelFL.GetComponent<Wheel>();
    53.  
    54.  
    55.                 }
    56.         }
    57. }
    58.  
    59.  
    For testing purposes, I decided to remove the old axle and attach a new one- when I kept the old axles script, I could see WheelFL assigned in the correct part through inspector, but it did not rotate or turn left/right.

    Anyone got any thoughts on this? Is it even possible to assign wheels at runtime in UnityCar?
     
  6. WJ

    WJ

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    I've been messing about with this but cant seem to nail kart type physics correctly, I want a car that accelerates quickly, drifts but wont spin or flip over. Tedious trying to get it just right.
     
  7. sesamiam

    sesamiam

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    87
    Light intensity must be too high?
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2014
  8. malteins

    malteins

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Hi I just bought UnitCar 2.2 Pro but it says it is version 2.1 Pro. Anyway I'm having trouble running the cars because no keys seem to be connected to the cars functions. I've done everything it says in the wiki but no luck. I would really appreciate your help. Thank you in advance!
     
  9. GameReady3D

    GameReady3D

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    90
  10. MAGED

    MAGED

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    the cars don't moving even with WASD
     
  11. malteins

    malteins

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    GameReady, thanks for your help, I've read your tutorial it's pretty good, but that still doesn't answer my question. Remember I'm just opening a Demo scene that comes with the package but no cars are working. I believe this shouldn't be happening with a demo scene. Anyway I suppose no keyboard keys are mapped to functions like ( Throttle ). How can I go about mapping keys or just making the demo scene work. I try every key but nothing happens, the only working keys are B, C and one other I can't remember, so it's not the keyboard.
    Any further help really appreciated. Thanks
     
  12. Meceka

    Meceka

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Posts:
    423
    find all axis car controller scripts in cars, set their Throttle, Brake, Handbrake, Clutch etc. to axises and name them as in "edit/project settings/Input" They need to have same name. Set all of them or it will give error.
     
  13. MAGED

    MAGED

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    how to add Steering wheel ( direksyon ) on android. please help me?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2014
  14. malteins

    malteins

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Ok thanks Meceka, this worked out for me. I'm missing one key though, the handbrake. What name do I give it for it to use the spacebar key? I tried "space" but it does not work. Anyway thanks again for your help!
     
  15. Extreme_u3Damon

    Extreme_u3Damon

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    66
    Any ETA on UNityCar 3.0 ?! any good news anything !?
     
  16. RogueCode

    RogueCode

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    230
    Has anyone heard from newlife recently? I bought this 2 days ago on the UnityCar site and have heard nothing :(
     
  17. hassanayoub1985

    hassanayoub1985

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Posts:
    30
    Dear, why you are not answering on mails?
     
  18. Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    114
    I've sent millions of emails and skype messages. No answer. Poor support...
     
  19. RogueCode

    RogueCode

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Posts:
    230
    I've been waiting just under a week now and still don't haven't been sent a link to download. The strange thing is that he has been signing in every couple of days.
     
  20. Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Marek_Bakalarczuk

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    114
    I'm waiting till August 8th
     
  21. fred_gds

    fred_gds

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    184
    Hey,

    I keep getting NaN for the rpm in the Drivetrain script.

    How can I prevent this from happening?
     
  22. POLYGAMe

    POLYGAMe

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    196
    Anyone find the car engine audio clicks when on device? It's not my files and I have the settings all correct... works fine in editor... real pain as I'm so close to release...
     
  23. smival

    smival

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    last release date is 2012?? its not up to date :(
    is going author to keep it up to date?
     
  24. UranFabrik

    UranFabrik

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    i hope so, its a long time since he said he will release unitycar 3.0
    i think he's more busy with his android game than unitycar

    hopefully he will reply soon
     
  25. cl9-2

    cl9-2

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    417
    Around March/April when I purchased UnityCar 2.2, he told me that UnityCar 3.0 would be available as soon as the beta testing for his Real Drift game was complete. Six months later there is no update or any news regarding the new version or the pricing for Enterprise.
     
  26. Alex_V

    Alex_V

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Posts:
    53
    Still waiting too.
     
  27. GentleForge

    GentleForge

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    29
    Still no infos? Really bad support!
     
  28. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello guys,
    sorry for the long absence from the forum but i have been very busy with my parallel projects and some unfortunate personal events.
    Anyway, in this period I have deeply thought about UnityCar future: mobile app development is taking a lot of my time, so i have to take a decision about where to concentrate my efforts in the next future.

    After careful consideration, i have decided to discontinue UnityCar Pro, and focus my efforts on UnityCar Enterprise.
    UnityCar Pro will receive an update with several improvements and bug fixing and it will be discontinued.
    UnityCar Pro users will receive a convenient upgrade offer to UnityCar Enterprise.

    UnityCar Enterprise features will include:

    • improved Paceika tire model: now is more physical accurate but also easier to control with any controller (keyboard, accelerometer, mouse); DONE
    • improved mobile controller; DONE
    • improved camera controller (rewritten from scratch in order to handle any number of cameras); DONE
    • improved drivetrain with a new differential model that includes: DONE
      • open differential
      • viscous differential
      • locked differential
      • 1-way LSD differential with preload
      • 2-way LSD differential with preload
      • 1.5-way LSD differential with preload
    • improved drivetrain: new engine model with AnimationCurve; DONE
    • improved axles: camber is now dynamic respect of suspension compression; DONE
    • new Drift Helper (the same used in Real Drift Car Racing); DONE
    • new physical accurate 3D tire mode; DONE
    • new Race Manager with all parameters needed to manage a race: spawn position, number of laps, lap times, checkpoints container, waypoints container, race flags (started, ended, freeride mode). The same used in Real Drift Car Racing; DONE
    • new Menu Manager with car and track selection (the same used in Real Drift Car Racing); DONE
    • new advanced AI controller; 50%
    • new replay system with optional recording; 50%

    Still dont know when UnityCar Enterprise will be ready, hope to publish a video or a simple web demo soon.
     
    Alex_V likes this.
  29. gurayg

    gurayg

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Posts:
    269
    Hello newlife,
    Happy to see that you're back:)
    I've a few questions concerning your decision to discontinue UnityCar Pro;

    If I understood correctly UnityCar Pro will get an update containing some of the upcoming Enterprise features. My guess Pro version will lack Race and Menu manager, AI and Replay system but will have the rest of the new features. Is that so?
    How and when will this upgrade happen? An estimated time and price is enough for my case.( a month?, end of the year?)
    If I don't want to upgrade, Will I be able to get the Pro version 3 and bug fixes through Unity asset store?
    Since it seems Pro version features are done. Is it possible for you to release that earlier?
    There is a new Physx update coming to Unity 5. Will you be adapting UnityCar Pro/Enterprise for the new physics update?

    Thanks.
     
  30. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello gurayg,
    UnityCar Pro will not have most of UnityCar Enterprise features, the update is to be considered separate respect of UnityCar Enterprise code.
    UnityCar Pro update will be available to all customer through Asset Store (not sure about this) and email.
    This update will be free for all UnityCar customers and will be available within the end of the year (hopefully before).
    UnityCar Pro 3.0 will not be released, the update is more to be considered as a UnityCar 2.3 version.
    It seems that Unity 5 will not feature the new Physx 3.3 (will be included in some next upgrade). Anyway all UnityCar versions will be updated to exploit in the best way the new Physx update.
     
  31. Meceka

    Meceka

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Posts:
    423
    Hello, I have a problem with unitycar.

    Wheels are trying to climb any *trigger* colliders. I have many trigger in my game and it's distrupting gameplay. Wheels also disregard layer collision matrix, really interesting but they climb to "ignoreRaycast" layer too.

    I have realised it only ignores the layer wheels are on. (If wheels are on default layer, it ignores default layer). But only 1 layer available for triggers makes everything overcomplicated.

    Is there any setting where I can set which layers the wheels should ignore, and which they shouldn't?

    Or can we just make it ignore all triggers? It could ignore triggers by default.

    Thanks.
     
  32. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello Meceka,
    we faced the same issue in Real Drift and we solved it by setting the layer of the triggers to "Ignore Raycast" and adding this layer to the layerMask, in this way:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. layerMask=1<<trs.gameObject.layer | 1<<myTransform.gameObject.layer | 1<<LayerMask.NameToLayer("Ignore Raycast");
    3. layerMask=~layerMask;
    4.  
     
  33. thedreamer

    thedreamer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Posts:
    226
    UnityCar Enterprise? I hope it's not too expensive
     
  34. Meceka

    Meceka

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Posts:
    423
    I didn't ever use layermask on scripting. I have been researching how layermask works since some time but I couldn't understand yet. In which script should I add these codes, wheel.cs? Can you briefly explain it please?
     
  35. StarHunter32

    StarHunter32

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    99
    I have a lot of obsolete warnings in StartGame.cs (and other scripts), please fix them in the next update, whenever it is.
     
  36. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Layermask already exists in wheel.cs. You just have to add the layermask regarding "Ignore Raycast".
     
    Meceka likes this.
  37. liuxuan

    liuxuan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    hi, newlife:
    I will buy unitycar pro 2.2 for the feature of 3d tire mode, but I am not sure this feature is open or closed on pro 2.2(your website said not implemented yet, but on youtube demo this feature is on, so I am confused), so I need to know before deciding to buy it, can you tell me some.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  38. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello liuxuan,
    UnityCar 2.2 doesnt have 3D tire feature "open" by default cause its not compatible with tire pressure.
    Anyway, is very simple to enable it, you just need to decomment a line in wheel class.
     
  39. thedreamer

    thedreamer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Posts:
    226
    I am looking forward to UnityCar Enterprise... How much will it cost?
     
  40. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    I've sent this as a question to support, I'm guessing it takes a little while to get a reply so putting it here incase anyone knows:

    How to make a 2 wheeled trailer with a single axle? Like a caravan or boat transporter? (not motorbike, although that would be nice!)

    Theres an example model for a trailer, however it has 6 wheels.

    I understand the character joint, and how to get a trailer up and running, so long as it has more than 2 wheels (which they generally don't).

    Is a single axle trailer possible or does it need to be made with Unity wheel colliders? (would be nice to keep everything in UnityCar physics)
    If I run Unity without assigning two axles minimum the trailer freaks out and spins all over the screen.

    Loading up the 3 wheeled example vehicle throws up some errors too.

    My game relies heavily on the idea of trailers, and the notes say UnityCar supports trailers, just a bit puzzled on how to implement.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014
  41. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    This is basically what I'm having trouble setting up.
     
  42. StarHunter32

    StarHunter32

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    99
    I'm also posting my question here. Similar issue has been mentioned before, but I can't seem to find a solution for my case:

    I spawn different cars depending on player selection, but the skidmarks prefab is detached. Since it should always be on 0,0,0 I have to attach it to the specific spawned car at runtime. Can someone please suggest how to do that or is there another way?
     
  43. Sondre-S

    Sondre-S

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Just a quick question; I tried my Logitech Rumblepad 2 with UnityCar for the first time today, and it worked perfectly, except one thing: I only get 0,4 to -0,4 from the steering input even when the joystick axis is pressed fully to the left or to the right.

    Edit: Sorry, found it. Sensitivity in project settings/Input. Set it to 1 instead of 0.4.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  44. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello hawken,
    UnityCar supports everything from one to n wheels. If the 3 wheeled example (tuk tuk) doenst work, there must be something wrong, cause you can test it even in the online demo. Please contact me on skype to further investigate this isssue.
     
  45. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    This is a limitation of skidmark code (already fixed). You have to spawn the skidmark prefab at (0,0,0).
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  46. enhawk

    enhawk

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    833
    Hi I'll go through and see if I can get it working, then contact if can't thanks.

    BTW: Engine Position, the way it spawns the audio very far away from the car if this variable is assigned, is this a known issue?
     
  47. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    yes this is a known and fixed issue.
     
  48. kp_2018

    kp_2018

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    When you will release UnityCar Enterprise 3.0?? Approx date??

    How much will it cost?
     
  49. SolarGamesDev

    SolarGamesDev

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    We just recently acquired UnityCar Pro 2.1 via the Unity Asset Store.

    We have the demos working but have more questions. Should we post the questions here or will someone respond to our email?

    Also, the UnityCar Wiki has been down for a couple days now:
    http://unitypackages.net/unitycar/wiki/index.php

    This is the error we receive:

    Database error

    A database error has occurred
    Query: SELECT lc_value FROM `l10n_cache` WHERE lc_lang = 'en' AND lc_key = 'deps' LIMIT 1
    Function: LCStore_DB::get
    Error: 1286 Unknown storage engine 'InnoDB' (localhost)


    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    - Solar Games Dev Team
     
  50. newlife

    newlife

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
    Hello,
    Im aware of the problem and Im workiing with my hosting provider to solve the issue.
    Meanwhile, you can contact me via skype or email if you need support.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.