Search Unity

Ref and Out or normal assign?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Lancaster13, Mar 27, 2015.

1. Lancaster13

Lancaster13

Hello Guys,

I'm a student of C# and i have a question about the Method parameters. Is better to assign my parameters, through the reference and output, or assign normally my parameters, and use all the method to define the variable value? What is minus expensive for performance? Because, the Out and Ref , uses the memory location to define the value.

Thanks

2. BenZed

BenZed

3. vothka

vothka

the question is: do you want your method to be able to change the value of the parameter?

if you do not use ref or out the method will create a copy of it for its own usage, so you are safe for sideeffects
    if you use ref(or out) your method will use the same (let's say) int as it accesses the same memory location.

so using ref would safe you one 4 byte int on your stack memory as long as you are in this specific method

long story short: i wouldn't mind the performance aspect but keep the main question in mind if your method should be able to change the int itself.

main()
    {
    int a = 2;
    a = timesTwo(a); //obviously here ref would make sense
    validateInput(a); // wouldn't use ref here
    }

int timesTwo(int _x)
    {
    return _x * 2;
    }

void validateInput(int _x)
    {
    //do stuff
    }

Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  4. passerbycmc

passerbycmc

Are you actually in a situation where it isn't just better to use a return, since even if you need to return multiple data types you can just return a struct.

5. makeshiftwings

makeshiftwings

I'd say you should absolutely NEVER make something ref or out for "performance", it should only ever be ref or out if you actually want to pass a reference or make it an out parameter.