Search Unity

Recording a player's movement during a game in xyz coordinates, then outputting to a file.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by ijohnston, Jul 16, 2014.

1. ijohnston

ijohnston

Dear all,

I'm a Professor at a University working on a research project looking at human learning, and I want to understand how people learn to navigate through environments. Unity seems to be an ideal platform to design these types of studies in a virtual environment.

The basic design will be that a participant is inserted into the environment and are asked to find a hidden goal. They explore the environment from a first person perspective until they do. This is repeated across several trials and we see how their behaviour changes with experience with the environment, and try to understand how people use aspects of their environment to orientate themselves.

The long-term aim is to do this while people are having their brains scanned.

However, I'm having problems seeing how I can get data back from this.

What I need are ways to measure the following:

1. The total time it takes for them to find the goal from the time of insertion.
    2. The path distance they travel to find the goal from insertion
    3. A description of their path in x,y,z coordinates at regular time intervals so I can determine dwell/search times in certain parts of the environment.
    4. A description of the direction of the camera at regular time intervals so I can try to determine what aspects of the environment they are using to navigate (i.e., which landmarks they are looking at).
    I suppose that #3 can be used to determine #1 and #2, so this is the most important one. #4 is a bit of a wish-list time.

Could anyone point in the direction of how to go about solving #3?

I'll be using a PC environment and the player/participant will be in front of the computer.

Thanks in advance, Ian

2. Josh-Naylor

Josh-Naylor

Administrator

Hi Ian.