Search Unity

Really quick question for Unity Pro users

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by cranky, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. cranky

    cranky

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    180
    I am programming my game for Unity Pro, but I do not have Unity Pro yet. Thus, I am unable to test this myself.

    When using LoadLevelAdditiveAsync, I am checking if AsyncOperation.isDone is true every update. I am assuming the scripts loaded in the scene will have their Awake functions called BEFORE my code finds that isDone = true... is this correct?

    I need to know this to avoid a million null reference exceptions upon switching to pro :). Thank you!
     
  2. MakeCodeNow

    MakeCodeNow

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1,246
    I believe that's the case, yes. Certainly if you are checking isDone from an Update function (and not from one of the Awake functions in scripts that are part of the new scene).

    -Nathan
     
  3. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,359
    You can activate a trial version of pro to test out the features.
     
  4. MakeCodeNow

    MakeCodeNow

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1,246
    With the announcement of Unity 5 you don't need to fake it. AFAIK, the free version has all of the async APIs enabled.
     
  5. cranky

    cranky

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    180
    Wow Unity 5 looks amazing! Thanks for the responses, guys!