Search Unity

RaycastHit2D does not detect Children of GameObject

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Sliske, May 25, 2015.

1. Sliske

Sliske

Hello,

I'm still new to Unity and I am trying to replicate Space Invaders.

I am trying to use Raycast to make sure only the bottom row of aliens shoot lasers instead of all aliens being able to.

I have put all the aliens as children of an empty game object so I can easily translate movements.

This is the code I'm having troubles with:
    Code (CSharp):
    2.     void MakeLaser ()
    3.     {
    4.         RaycastHit2D hit = Physics2D.Raycast (this.transform.position, -Vector2.up, Mathf.Infinity);
    5.         Debug.DrawRay (this.transform.position, -Vector2.up);
    6.         Debug.Log (hit.collider.name);
    7.         if (hit.collider.name == "alien" && hit.collider.CompareTag ("Laser")) {
    8.             isBottomRow = false;
    9.         } else {
    10.             isBottomRow = true;
    11.         }
    12.         float randNumber = Random.Range (0, 360);
    13.         if (isBottomRow = true && randNumber < 1 && gs.laserCount < 3 && GameObject.FindWithTag ("Player") != null) {
    14.             Instantiate (laserPrefab, this.transform.position, Quaternion.identity);
    15.         }
    16.     }
    It does not set "isBottomRow = false" for aliens that are not in the bottom row and they can shoot lasers out.
    All aliens have box collider 2D (trigger) and rigidbody 2D attached.

I also get this error:
    warning CS0414: The private field `InvaderController.isBottomRow' is assigned but its value is never used.

I would greatly appreciate your help.

2. tonemcbride

tonemcbride

It looks like your 'if' condition is assigning the variable 'isBottomRow' instead of testing against it.

e.g.if (isBottomRow = true
    should be
    if (isBottomRow == true

I'm probably a bit old fashioned but I think it makes it more readable/safer to put parenthesis around multiple conditions like this: