Search Unity

Question for the ones with families and full-time day jobs.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nbirko2928, Sep 17, 2014.

1. nbirko2928

nbirko2928

HOW DO YOU DO IT?

I work full time as a programmer and have a small family of wife, son, and dog. Yet I'm having a serious issue with making time to actually work on my projects. Any tips from full-timer fathers/mothers out there that have actually released something?

ChrisSch likes this.
  2. Teila

Teila

We have that same problem. While I am at home, I homeschool two teens plus work on the game. My husband has a demanding day job and a long commute. He did release a few small games on Torque a few years ago with another developer but nothing recently. Although, to be fair, we have only been working seriously on this project for a year or so. Prior to that, we tried, but too many distractions in real life.

I believe it can be done! If not, I wouldn't even try. :) You just have to keep working and realize you can't compare yourself to people who work full-time on their game. While it might take a one man team working full time a year or two to finish a game, it will probably take us twice as long. But the trick is seeing progress. Set some realistic short term and long term goals for yourself and don't freak out if you don't always meet them. Try your best. Reward yourself when you actually meet the goal.

As for tips, in our case, we got the kids involved. One is a college student studying programming so we have him doing odd jobs for us. The other two are artists, so they are learning digital art and 3d modeling. They don't get much done, but at least they will have some skills for college. Some of their friends have joined in and done a little work for us here and there. One of them has decided to study digital art in college. :) That was a little side bonus for me...a feel good moment.