Search Unity

PyroTechnix - Volumetric Explosion Framework (D3D, OGL, MOBILE)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by smb02dunnal, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. levmckinney

    levmckinney

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I just bought this but I'm getting some usage breaking bugs. When I first imported it into my project I was getting errors from the pro only script to the point where I had to remove the script for it to run, and then when it did run, I wasn't seeing the explosion puff at all. This was all in the example scene you mentioned in the quick start guide. Help on this ASAP would be great.
     
  2. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    Sorry for the slow response on this.

    Could you give me some more repro steps? What did the errors you mention say?
    TBH it's pretty hard to diagnose the problem with all that you've given. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy to fix this for you, just need as much information as possible in order to be effective.
     
  3. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    Hey guys, if this interests anyone, I've been working on a C++ DirectX sample for an upcoming GPU Pro chapter on the technique used to create the explosions.

    The technique is an update on the existing plugin, and I'll be upgrading this plugin with the changes soon. In the mean time, if anyone wants to play around with the sample, you can get it from github here:
    https://github.com/smb02dunnal/volumetric-explosions

    Also, the introduction from the book chapter is here:
    http://gpupro.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/realistic-volumetric-explosions-in-games.html
     
  4. DrewMedina

    DrewMedina

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    418
    Looking forward to the update!
     
  5. lazygunn

    lazygunn

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2,749
    Grats on the GPU Pro spot! One of my fave gfx book series, since they set me a good target to understand, look forwards to checking the sample
     
  6. Z43D

    Z43D

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    100
    I know this isn't the right thread, but do you have plans to update Fluidity for Unity 5? I seemed to get it to work with help from the community but I'd love an official patch if possible.
     
  7. Matrixmage

    Matrixmage

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Does PyroTechnix work with the free version of Unity? Or only the pro version?
     
  8. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,649
    Hi,

    Any update for Unity 5?!
     
  9. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    PyroTechnix is not compatible with Unity 5. pro or personal.

    But he is working on it.
     
    ZJP likes this.
  10. bteitler

    bteitler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    I was able to get this to work in Unity 5 by commenting out the check for Unity Pro in "Helper.cs" for "CanUseTex3D()" function. (around line 223). Otherwise, it switches to using 2D textures instead of 3D which seems to cause a lot of bad artifacts on the explosion (unclear if this is a bug in his code.. I would think the 2D texture version would just be slower).

    Also, just delete any camera effects that are old and don't compile as they aren't necessary (can be replaced with Unity 5 versions).
     
  11. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    I just submitted an updated package to the asset store which gets this working in Unity 5 (pro or free).
     
    DrewMedina likes this.
  12. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Nice one :)
     
  13. DrewMedina

    DrewMedina

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    418
    I am getting this error with the new version, on export... any ideas? thanks!

    Unity 5.2.0f3

    Assets/Pyro Technix/Scripts/Auxilliary/Helpers.cs(222,18): error CS0103: The name `UnityEditorInternal' does not exist in the current context
     
  14. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    Sorry HeadTrip! I continually forget to fix that one.

    You can comment out that whole if block and it should work fine! Many apologies.
     
  15. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,649
    Yes... :D
     
  16. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    I've submitted a fix for this :) ... finally
     
  17. bteitler

    bteitler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    smb02dunnal: Have you made any major changes to performance or available features? I'm a little swamped right now and I'd like to know if it makes sense to try to upgrade to the official Unity 5 version over my hacked Unity 4 one.
     
  18. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    Performance has increased - I fixed a bug in rendering which should increase performance.

    I also fixed a bug with heat haze rendering - this stops the pulsing.

    Also took steps to ensure that the plugin is compatible with OGL and mobile again.
     
  19. bteitler

    bteitler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    It looks like the parameters effect things massively differently now. My explosions prefabs don't look correct anymore. Do you have any tips for upgrading and keeping similar visuals?
     
  20. bteitler

    bteitler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Posts:
    52
    I was able to update my assets to look similar, but the parameters definitely are much different and this took some time. However, the performance definitely is a lot better and much more consistent though, great job!
     
  21. The Janker

    The Janker

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I just downloaded this, seems perfect for my game! however I can't get the editor to run in the current version of Unity. I've also tried making the animated Explosions bigger but it isn't changing their size once I play. Any idea where I could find the explosion editor? I've checked every tab and can't find it.
     
  22. The Janker

    The Janker

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    What my very tired self was trying to ask is how would I get the editor running? or how would I increase the size of the explosion as it's about 100 times to small for what I need.

    Thanks for making such a great tool. I do plan on picking up all of your other programs as I need them for my game!
     
  23. smb02dunnal

    smb02dunnal

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Posts:
    439
    Are you using the explosion prefabs supplied with the tool?

    If so - those prefabs are tied to animations, you'll have to alter the animation to make them bigger. Or parent it to a dummy game object and increase it's scale.

    Alternatively - if you aren't using the prefabs supplied, then just increase the scale of the explosion.
     
  24. StealThePixels

    StealThePixels

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Hi, i have Unity 5.1.1f , do i need to upgrade to 5.2 for this to work?
    Or is it just needed for some particular features i may not use
     
  25. DrewMedina

    DrewMedina

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    418
    Hello,
    Looks like there is an LOD switch on the volumetric prefab, how do I disable it?
    Anytime I get within a few feet of it and it switches to a higher LOD that sorts behind any mesh between us.
    Maybe this is a near clipping for the mesh? I want the ability to get very close, I would also like to use the lower LOD.
    thanks!
     
  26. JamesMakesGamesLtd

    JamesMakesGamesLtd

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    Heya,

    Great package, but I don't seem to be able to render more than one volume at a time. This demo shows (I think) several volumes being rendered at once and upthread eskovas mentioned using an animation which included several volumes, but if i have more than one Animated or Detailed Puff prefab in the scene it will only render the last-placed object. Can someone explain?
     
  27. pi-k

    pi-k

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    I had the same problem, had to construct a new volumetric cloud from scratch because the same prefab wouldn't work at the same time.

    My problem with this now is that a small volumetric volume near the screen/camera edge will shrink into nothing for no stated reason. And with near the edge I mean that it starts to visibly shrink as soon as you leave the center 50% of screen area which makes them unusable for a lot of applications unless lots of workarounds are applied.
     
  28. JustHonour

    JustHonour

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    Did anyone manage to get this to work on mobile? Everything works fine for me unless I set the build to Android. Then all I get is a moving brown blob. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016