Search Unity

Projectile with raycast

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by KingLlama, Aug 1, 2015.

1. KingLlama

KingLlama

I have a simple ray cast script and I want to attach a bullet it to it and a reload function. How would I go about doing that? Would be something similar to a melee script with animations but adding a requirement for reload after firing?I'll add my weapon raycast script when I get home to show you what I have so far!

2. GroZZleR

GroZZleR

You want to attach a raycast to the bullet or you want to shoot a bullet after a raycast check? And where does the reload come in? Your question is pretty vague. Try rewording it.

3. KingLlama

KingLlama

So what my goal is to have the weapon attached to the script to be able to shoot with r but with the bullet moving with the raycast and then to check if the weapon has a bullet if not it would needed to be reloaded with a timer and a animation attached.

Is that better wording? I'm sorry i'm just really new to this. Here is my script so far.

Code (JavaScript):
    2. var Effect : Transform;
    3. var TheDamage = 100;
    5. function Update ()
    6. {
    8.     var hit : RaycastHit;
    9.     var ray : Ray = Camera.main.ScreenPointToRay(Vector3(Screen.width*0.5, Screen.height*0.5, 0));
    11.     if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
    12.     {
    13.         if (Physics.Raycast (ray, hit, 100))
    14.         {
    15.             var particleClone = Instantiate(Effect, hit.point, Quaternion.LookRotation(hit.normal));
    16.             Destroy(particleClone.gameObject, 2);
    17.             hit.transform.SendMessage("ApplyDamage", TheDamage, SendMessageOptions.DontRequireReceiver);
    18.         }
    19.     }
    21. }

4. GroZZleR

GroZZleR

It's definitely more clear now, thank you.

What aspect are you struggling with? All of it? It seems like you have most of the logic sorted, except the timing aspect.