Search Unity

[Progress] FreeSim

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by ivyroxy, Mar 23, 2015.

1. ivyroxy

ivyroxy

Hello everyone!

This is my very first post on this forum as I have very rarely resorted to the public. However, my next project is a project I'd like to make open source (once complete) and very open to modifications. This is why I'm hoping I can get feedback from you people, as well as any help I can get on-board!

- The Project -
    I'm willing to bet a number of you tried modding the Sims one day - and after realizing the poor options and limited mods - probably resorted to OpenSim. I've been working for some time now on a "The Sims" clone that would be very open to modding. The core concept is still the same: create a character, build a house, buy stuff, play with life.

- Modding -
    All of the games I have built with my 5 years of Unity Dev experience have always been pretty linear, and intrinsic. They have never relied on external content (i.e. Mods). Therefore my knowledge on this is very limited. However, I have planned to have everything set as a mod initially: meaning that all base content would be a mod too that can be edited/disabled/enabled at any time. This would allow to add/remove different needs, clothes, furniture... Also, the ability of creating a 3D model and importing it as a piece of furniture (/clothing) with custom actions/properties.

- Current Progress -
    I have been working on this for the past couple of weeks, and so far, here are the available features:
    -Building walls (clunky)
    -Buying / Placing furniture
    -Currency
    fs1.PNG fs2.PNG fs-fridge.PNG fs3.PNG fs4.PNG

- Features in Progress -
    Once these features are implemented, I'll release an Alpha Version :)
    -Moddable content
    -Pathfinding for the Characters
    -Character creation
    -Clothes
    -Character interactions
    -Furniture Interactions
    -Needs

- Future Planned Features -