Search Unity

Procedural content generation -- Where to start?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by jtsmith1287, Oct 21, 2014.

1. jtsmith1287

jtsmith1287

Limit Theory has some pretty incredible procedural space ship generation and I'd like to start my journey learning how to do this. The guy seems like a bad ass and I don't expect to be able to output something that amazing any time soon, but anything similar would be rad.

I've googled PCG in several ways on several occasions but 99% of the time I'm getting terrain generation so not 100% of what I'm looking for. Regardless, none of the guides/tutorials I've found have decent content for someone who isn't familiar with anything procedural. I'm an experienced programmer, so the only limitations are just the theory. Does anyone know of some good tutorials out there or guides/articles/blogs that detail the basics up to advanced stuff? Or I'd love any wisdom directly from you fine folk. :)

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Well here's an easy way to get started: generate your ships randomly. Then, to make it procedural, all you have to do is seed your random number generator the same way every time you want to make the same sort of ship.

You can even do this recursively, e.g., the first random number you pull out of the PRNG is the ship class (fighter, scout, carrier, whatever); then you branch to a routine for the type, and it pulls out additional PRNGs for the subparts, and so on till you get down to the details.

You do need to be careful to do this in a way that's not fragile... you don't want to completely break everything just by adding one more detail feature somewhere (thus pulling out an extra random number, and changing all the subsequent ones). There are various tricks to avoid that. But start here, and I think you'll be headed in the right direction.

3. jtsmith1287

jtsmith1287