Search Unity

Problems installing 5.2.0f3 (VS Community 2015 related)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Caphalem, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Caphalem

Caphalem

I'm trying to install Unity 5.2.0f3 on a Windows 10 (upgraded from 8.1) machine and I get the following error:

"Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2015 installer is blocked with error -2147205120. Possible reasons for this: Visual Studio is running, and needs to be closed before installing; a newer version of Visual Studio is installed; your computer needs to be restarted; or April 2014 update for Windows 8.1 is not installed. Please install KB 2919355 if this is the case."​

With the options "Abort", "Retry", "Ignore". I'm new to Unity and don't want to mess up the installation so I press "Abort" until I can figure out the situation.

My comments on the "possible reasons":
    • Visual Studio is running, and needs to be closed before installing. If it is, then it's running in a very subtle way where I can't even notice it in the processes list of the Details tab in the Task Manager. Pretty sure it's not running.
    • A newer version of Visual Studio is installed. I don't have Visual Studio installed but I do have Visual Studio C++ Redistributables installed of which the latest one is from 2013 (12.0.30501). Shouldn't be the case.
    • Your computer needs to be restarted. Tried it - didn't help.
    • Or April 2014 update for Windows 8.1 is not installed. Indeed that (KB 2919355) update is missing from the "installed updates" list but would that really be a good idea? To hunt down and install this 8.1 update on a 10?

2. TEBZ_22

TEBZ_22

I've got the same error on win8.1.
    But after running Windows update (there were some pending updates), and a restart, the re-installation seems to work.

3. shinka_14

shinka_14

D: same problem here

4. Caphalem

Caphalem