Search Unity

Problem with foot sliding of my character from Maya to Unity using legacy rig.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Yuzrass, Mar 10, 2015.

1. Yuzrass

Yuzrass

Hi, everyone! I've had basic experience with Unity back in version 2 and 3 then left it for some time. I am a 3D artist and using it for game art asset and I am not good in technical and programming areas. Now that I stared back with Unity 4. I realize that Unity got a new animation system Mecanim. I've been digging into it this pass few days and found it quite cool!
    Now the problem that I am facing is what if I or someone need to use the legacy rig instead of Humanoid Mecanim? When I tried setting my character up for Legacy rig. I found one thing that annoys me which is the foot or leg bone seems to slide and glide on the floor and not stay solid planted on the floor like how I animate and bake it in Maya. I had not of this problem when I am using Mecanim because Mecanim have the 'Foot IK' feature.
    Is this a common problem or a natural thing happen when using Legacy rig or am I doing it wrongly on my side?
    To make it easier to show you my problem, you can look at the video that I have recorded bellow. Hope you can shine some light. Thank you.

2. Yuzrass

Yuzrass

I would also want to ask. This time for Mecanim animation, do we have to provide the animation cycle for the character not in-place like how we normally do it? For example, for walk cycle, instead of having it walk in-place, do I need to make it walk forward in space? Or it doesn't matter, I can do both?

3. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

For your original question - to get the feet to not slide, the animation timing of the root node has to move the same distance and speed as the feet each step. This keeps the feet from looking like they are sliding. It's all about timing.