Search Unity

Please help with error message

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ExileGamesStudio, Mar 26, 2015.

1. ExileGamesStudio

ExileGamesStudio

I am very new to using unity and to any sort of scripting in general so I have been watching a lot of tutorials. how ever when I follow along with my own script I always have the same error "no monobehaviour scripts in the file or their names do not match the file name" I have gone over the script from the last tutorial which is on how to create an rpg game again and again and mine matches up exactly but I still have the error.

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;
    public class BaseCharacterClass {
    private string characterClassName;
    private string characterClassDescription;
    //Stats
    private int stamina;
    private int endurance;
    private int strength;
    private int intellect;
    public string CharacterClassName{
    get{return characterClassName;}
    set{characterClassName = value;}
    }
    public string CharacterClassDescription{
    get{return characterClassDescription;}
    set{characterClassDescription = value;}
    }
    public int Stamina{
    get{return stamina;}
    set{stamina = value;}
    }
    public int Endurance{
    get{return endurance;}
    set{endurance = value;}
    }
    public int Strength{
    get{return strength;}
    set{strength = value;}
    }
    public int Intellect{
    get{return intellect;}
    set{intellect = value;}
    }
    }
    the link to the video is
    incase you need something to compare it to. its a base character script. there are also 2 other scripts in the video which are different character classes. I have no error on those scripts which is the first time ive never not received the error while trying to follow someones tutorial.

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;
    public class BaseWarriorClass : BaseCharacterClass {
    public BaseWarriorClass () {
    CharacterClassName = "Warrior";