Search Unity

Pixel art and animation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gdog105, Jul 28, 2015.

1. gdog105

gdog105

I have two questions does anyone know what software was used to make Hyper light drifter's art and animation. If not what is the best for art and animation.

2. calmcarrots

calmcarrots

Probably photoshop. Im not sure because Im not an artist. However, the reason I am responding is to say that I am making a pixel RPG game myself. I am a programmer though so that means I have to look for a tool that is very easy to use, free, and is pixel art friendly. After a lot of research, I decided to go with Gimp 2. I have created a lot of pixel art so far and I am excited to use it in my game. Here's a sample of what I made:
    Enemy_08.png

It might look a little ugly to some but I like how it turned out considering this is the first time I am doing pixel art. So ya, I really recommend Gimp 2 for pixel art.

Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
    GarBenjamin and BrandyStarbrite like this.
  3. 1Piotrek1

1Piotrek1

Gimp have very bad animation preview, I prefer piskel, it is free and Web based.

4. Pix10

Pix10

kburkhart84 likes this.
  5. Master-Frog

Master-Frog

You can use GameMaker's animation tool, it has everything you need, animation previews, etc. for pixel art and at $0.00 it's a great deal. Exports to png sprite sheets and all.

jammydodger and GarBenjamin like this.
  6. Wacky-Moose

Wacky-Moose

Check out Pyxel edit, it is super awesome and very cheap :)

CptDustmite and GarBenjamin like this.
  7. kburkhart84

kburkhart84

I agree with the vote for Pro Motion. The only reason you might not want pro motion is if you are doing something more HD, as in NOT pixel art. Even larger pixel art is still great with Pro Motion, but if you want something of a painterly style, with AA lines making tons of colors on the edges of soft brushes, then Pro Motion won't do it.