Search Unity

Pipeline / pre to post

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Grim Castle, Jul 28, 2014.

1. Grim Castle

Grim Castle

Hello world!

I am new and very young to this medium of art. I am asking you good people how to begin the game creation process (or if you know of any resources) where I can learn from start to finish from concept to sale.

I am only a noob but have a hunger for knowledge, though I do lack the technical and common knowledge, but I am good at photoshop and getting my feet wet in maya. I aim to learn from 2d and then build up to 3d, or perhaps jump around to both. This is strictly a learning experience but if I do manage to come up with a polished product at the end of this self teaching quest then all the better.

Thank you for your time. and good luck on your ventures too!
    -Simon

2. Sykoo

Sykoo

Some tips:

Start off by learning the basics of coding (choose either C# or Javascript if you'll work on Unity (I work on Javascript just for the record)).

After learning the basics of the UI of Unity and also a little knowledge over coding, come up with a really basic idea. And then try to make that idea happen. Let's say you thought of making a 2D game. Try to make it. Search on Unity's forum and also google over what you want the game to include. Then try to write the codes instead of just copy pasting, as this is the way of learning it. If you make a little mistake somewhere, consider about starting all over again in that specific function/void to save it to your memory.

Don't try to sell your first game. Release it as a demo or some sort of short game to show to your friends and the community of Unity. People appreciate and give feedback to these types of starter-projects.

The differences between Unity's 2D and 3D aint much. Its just that you use layers in 2D and in 3D you just place your 3D prefabs. At the end though, you use scripts.

Also, whenever you get stuck, don't forget to look at Unity's Scripting API!