Search Unity

Physics based BMX game ( BMX: Ride )

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Vossy, Mar 15, 2014.

1. Vossy

Vossy

Hey

I know it's been a while since there was a descent Bmx game for the PC( since Dave Mirra freestyle bmx and Math Hoffman game). And sadly the indie game "BMX:The game" was never finished. So i've been developing my own bmx game in the Unity3d engine. It's a physics based bmx simulation game. Currently it has no player mounted on, because i'm still learning about the motion capture tehcnology for animations.

I'm making this all on my own, so it's gonna take some time to get a playable demo out. I plan on releasin a free demo with 1-2 riding spots, like indoor skatepark + maiby some street spots. Graphics wise i'm tryng to mimic Skate 3. If anyone is interested in helping with programming and modeling/design, let me know ;)

SO i would like to hear Your thoughts on this ? :)

VIDEOS of the early developement:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_ndJAUg4tA
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Epck7AXXVo

Attached Files:

2. PatriotHD

PatriotHD

Great, I waited for BMX the game. Keep going making project.
    But please change the bike model, modern bikes are beauty :)

3. Vossy

Vossy

I know the bike model is not good enough, but I didn't find any free models. But for the final version i'll try to find or make a better bike model. Thanks for support!

4. supermud

supermud

Last edited: Mar 15, 2014
  5. Vossy

Vossy

Hey supermud!
    Thanks for the bike model. I think I will take the handlebars and stem from it, because it looks better.

Bike is based on 2 wheel colliders and a rigidbody object, with specifically tuned physics variables. I apply some extra forces for jumping and turning etc. Also basic math for turn angles and leaning. It's far from perfect tho. If anyone here is experienced with bike physics calculations, then i could need the extra help.

6. supermud

supermud