Search Unity

Optimization... How does it work?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pandantly, Sep 25, 2015.

1. Pandantly

Pandantly

As I am rather new to the world of developing video games, I always tend to come across patches in beta/alpha games that read Increased Optimization or Performance Update or something similar to that. I have a decent understanding of what game optimization means (increasing performance/FPS), but what I don't know about is the process developers go through to optimize their game.

Although each game is different, in general, how does a developer go about optimizing his or her game? What are some of the most commonly used methods of increasing performance?

Any comments are welcome! Thanks!

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Look at the profiler and try to improve parts that use the most time.

--Eric

schmosef, Ony, Kiwasi and 2 others like this.
  3. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

What Eric said. Find your bottlenecks and improve them. Optimization is highly dependent on the game itself.

Kiwasi and Ony like this.
  4. Not_Sure

Not_Sure

1) Cache transforms
    2) Make sure all moving colliders have a rigid body
    3) Turn of colliders when you can. If an object only collides with the player, only enable it when it's in range of the player.
    4) Never use mesh colliders or default 2d polygon colliders. They are always overkill.
    5) Tweak the Fixed Update in the time options.
    6) Use object pools instead of instantiate or destroy. They're not that hard and can make a HUGE difference.
    7) Culling.
    8) LOD.
    9) Watch out for loops.
    10) Don't do a function everyframe if you don't need to.
    11) Asynchronous loading. (loading on a seperate CPU core, rather than stopping the game until something is loaded causing a "chug").

Rodolfo-Rubens likes this.
  5. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

1) Only if it actually would make a difference; in most cases it won't.
    2) Yes.