Search Unity

Open Source Grid Framework (for Scene View)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by yasirkula, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. yasirkula

    yasirkula

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,879
    Hi there,

    I am working on a game with grid-based levels. I wrote a simple editor script (in C#) to speed up the level design stage.

    Plugin works on XZ-plane and (surely) supports snap-to-grid feature. For each prefab in your project, you can create separate profiles (state) with different name, rotation and shift values.

    The rest of the description is (shamelessly) copied from the GitHub page. Enjoy!

    GitHub link: https://github.com/yasirkula/UnityGridFramework



    Features
    • Simple user-interface
    • Easy-to-use
    • Undo-redo support
    • Ability to set different grid states and prefab states (per prefab)
    How to use
    1. Put GridEditor.cs and GridEditorSettings.cs in Assets/Editor folder (create one if it does not exist). Settings for the framework will be stored at Assets/Editor/GridEditorSettings.asset
    2. Open Window/Grid Editor
    3. Select a prefab (or a prefab instance)
    4. Hover mouse cursor over Scene view and left click to place the prefab
    Hints
    • Use Q and E keys to rotate the selected prefab around its Y-axis easily (Scene View should have the focus)
    • Use CTRL+Q and CTRL+E keys to switch between prefab states easily (Scene View should have the focus)
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  2. cranky

    cranky

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Posts:
    180
    Wow, looks really cool! I probably won't need it for my current project, but it looks like an amazing time saver if I ever do need it. Reminds me of the editor for Oblivion (how the geometry snap together). Always good to see contributions, well done!
     
  3. yasirkula

    yasirkula

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,879
    lol, thank you :)
     
  4. Yamanlar

    Yamanlar

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Hocam gerçekten süper olmuş elinize sağlık.
    Fakat Unity 4.6.X te çalışır mı?
     
  5. yasirkula

    yasirkula

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,879
    Scripti Unity 4.6'da yazmıştım o yüzden çalışması lazım.
     
  6. Yamanlar

    Yamanlar

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Çalışıyor Teşekkürler
    Fakat y ekseninde döndürmede olsaydı çok daha iyi olurdu :D
    (Tuşla)
     
  7. mathias234

    mathias234

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    239
  8. yasirkula

    yasirkula

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,879
    After a long time, I've decided to update the package to Unity 5 and changed how prefabs are handled. It is no longer necessary to create a separate profile for each prefab you intend to use. Simple select the prefab you want to use and you are good to go!

    Sorry for opening the topic at the wrong section in the first place. It can be moved to "Assets and Asset Store" section by a moderator.