Search Unity

OnSerializeNetworkView and rigidbody2D

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ted23, Sep 21, 2014.

1. ted23

ted23

I'm new to Unity networking. As a learning exercise I started with the following tutorial that many have suggested.

http://www.paladinstudios.com/2013/07/10/how-to-create-an-online-multiplayer-game-with-unity/

The tutorial is written for 3D. I'm trying to adjust it for 2D.

Everything works well until the step where I replace the default synchronization of the transform with my own OnSerializeNetworkView function in PlayerMovementScript.cs. Comments on the blog indicate others are having a similar issue.

Here is the behavior that I am seeing. I have two instances of the game running, Instance A and Instance B. Instance A is standalone and set to run in background. Instance B is running in the Unity Editor. The two instances successfully connect. I see no error messages in Instance B's console (I have network debugging enabled). As I move the player in Instance A, the movement is not visually updated in Instance B until the player gets close to a wall. Once the player gets close to a wall in Instance A, in Instance B that player will instantly teleport to the correct position in Instance B's display. The reverse is also true; moving the Instance B player is not updating in Instance A's display until the Instance B player gets close to a wall.

Below is my network view update code. Is this not the proper way to network update players controlled by 2D physics?
    Code (csharp):
    2. void OnSerializeNetworkView(BitStream stream, NetworkMessageInfo info)
    3. {
    4.    Vector3 syncPosition = Vector3.zero;
    6.    if (stream.isWriting)
    7.    {
    8.       syncPosition = rigidbody2D.position;
    9.       if (syncPosition != lastWritePosition)
    10.       {
    11.          stream.Serialize(ref syncPosition);
    12.          lastWritePosition = syncPosition;
    13.       }
    14.    }
    15.    else
    16.    {