Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

OnGUI buttons + Touchscreens

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by Pyronide, Oct 7, 2014.

1. Pyronide

Pyronide

I am trying to create a game for a mobile device that has a touch screen. I am still new to Unity 3D and am currently running version 4.3 if it matters. I am wondering if I can use OnGUI () to make a button and have that button be touchable from the screen. If this is an obvious thing I apologize, but I am still learning things as mentioned. Also, I am coding in Javascript for now until I get become more fluent in C# so please answer in JS. Thanks.

2. The_BenEvans

The_BenEvans

Yeah, I believe you just need to use something like this:

function OnGUI(){
    if(GUILayout.Button("Do something"))
    {
    Debug.Log("Doing Something");
    }
    }

If you're brand new it might be worth downloading version 4.6 and start using the new GUI system as the OnGUI system is not very easy, quick or flexible. There's plenty of videos that Unity have made to teach you the new system too.

Hope that helps

3. Pyronide

Pyronide

I looked through the manual (as Internet is usually not available when I am working in Unity) and I saw the code for GUI buttons. So right now it is something like:

var btn1 : Texture;

funcion OnGUI () {
    GUI.Button(Rect(xPos, yPos, xSize, ySize), btn1)) {
    Debug.Log ("A button");
    }
    }

This is a rough example from what I can remembet. This will be a lot easier when I get internet at home and can copy paste some information for you. Sorry I am unable to do that right now. With this I do have a question, is GUI.Button a touchable button or just on mouse click? If it helps I am making a virtual pet type game.

4. The_BenEvans

The_BenEvans

If I remember correctly it can do both things. Touching acts as if you are clicking it