Search Unity

No experience with unity is it possible to make a good game in a week?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by iamthwee, Dec 4, 2015.

1. iamthwee

iamthwee

Hi guys,

I have no experience whatsoever with unity, but after having my doubts clarified with the mono runtime security, I'm deciding to use this.

So is it unreasonable to expect to write a good game within a week? I'm a fast learner. What do you think?

2. Steve-Tack

Steve-Tack

It's unreasonable. Game development ain't like dustin' crops, boy.

3. iamthwee

iamthwee

Well I have watched the ball roll tutorial and space invaders game and pretty much sure I can bang that one out. The 3D games with rigged characters is more of an issue, next week we shall see but I've set myself that goal.

4. JasonBricco

JasonBricco

It depends on how you define "good game".

CptDustmite, aer0ace and HemiMG like this.
  5. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin

What is the rush? Why 1 week? Admittedly most of my projects have been 1 to 3 weeks just because I prefer small scope get in get it done and move on projects. It is a great way to push yourself to maximize your design & development speed.

But... it doesn't seem the same to do that at the very beginning before you have kind of foundation to build on.

Is there some deadline like making a game for someone's birthday or something like that?

6. iamthwee

iamthwee

No deadline, I just like to set myself hard tasks to complete :D

Better than at least 90% of the games posted in the WIP section, they're atrocious ;)

7. Aiursrage2k

Aiursrage2k

Someone could in theory make a good game in a week but most likely it will be S***. Superhot, Receiver, gods will be watching you might be able to make an interesting prototype but thats about it really.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2015
  8. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

So go ahead and do it instead of messing about on forum.

9. iamthwee

iamthwee