Search Unity

New to Unity and Game dev, not to dev, sharing code

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by DWNewt, Aug 11, 2014.

1. DWNewt

DWNewt

Hi there All,

I've recently started to play around in Unity (I'm new to C#, but familiar with Java, and development, having been a developer in some way most of my professional life (20 years now...), and a tinkerer most of my life), with an initial "Ultimate Goal" in mind for what I want to create and publish first. My first real published game will not be overly ambitious, but definitely doable in a matter of days/weeks for any seasoned game developer, or for somebody that just ends up slapping together purchased or downloaded libraries from the asset store or elsewhere. I want to learn game development properly, so don't want to just use some libraries off the shelf to achieve a final result, I want to learn, not try to push out a product and try to make money off of it, that's a nice-to-have, not the reason for doing this. (Game) development is my passion, so that's where it's at at the moment.

That being said, I do recognise the value of community in these endeavours, and as I've watched many, many hours of tutorial videos, and read many, many a forum and blog post, I've decided to give some back at the same time. As I go on, and find that I am writing a script or class that could be used as a utility class in any given project, I am committing it to my github repository and blogging about it on my blog.

I've only done two classes so far, one for putting a tiled background onto a plane, and optionally letting it rotate (nice for a 2D background).
    The second class is one I wrote while writing a Tetris clone (for personal use and learning only, no intention of releasing it onto any app store or anything, I am just doing it to "see if I can"), it's the script I use to make the tetris block drop bit by bit down the screen.

You can see the classes here: