Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

New Member - Am I going the wrong way about Attack Scripting?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by raziel786, May 9, 2014.

1. raziel786

raziel786

Hi =)

I am new to Unity, and new to this forum so please go easy on me :p

I am currently building a 2d game, and have used Sprite Factory which is an awesome tool!

The game is functioning, however, I think I have the wrong idea with regards to the attacks. The animation plays, but thats all it does. It does not attack the enemy, or anything?

Any help would be mostly appreciate on what to do.

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using FactorySprite = SpriteFactory.Sprite;
    4. public class Attack : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     // you forgot to set name of variable representing your sprite
    7.     private FactorySprite sprite;
    9.     // Use this for initialization
    10.     void Start () {
    11.         sprite = GetComponent<FactorySprite> (); // Edited
    12.     }
    13.     void Update ()
    14.     {
    15.         if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.A))
    16.         {
    17.             sprite.Play("Attack");
    18.             Vector3 pos = transform.position;
    19.             pos.x += Time.deltaTime * 1;
    20.             transform.position = pos;
    21.         }
    22.     }
    23. }

2. Zaladur

Zaladur

I don't see any code on attacking. All you tell the player to do is to play the attack animation and move forwards slightly. An animation is simply visual - you will need to write the logic of what actually happens when you attack (damage an enemy, break a box, do whatever it is your game should do).

3. raziel786

raziel786

Hi,

Thank you for your reply. Knew I was off with what I was doing.