Search Unity

Need some Javascripting support

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ddulshan, Aug 16, 2014.

1. ddulshan

ddulshan

Hey guys. I'm making a game and I faced some scripting problems. I'm no scripting expert, so here's my problems.

Ok, so. I've Instantiated a object(figure) when the player reach a collider without a Mesh Render with trigger unabled, I just need to use this as a trigger that's why I removed the Mesh Render component. Here's the script I've made.

Code (JavaScript):
    1. var figure : GameObject;
    2. var spawn : Transform;
    4. function OnTriggerEnter ()
    5. {
    6.      Instantiate(figure, spawn.position, spawn.rotation);
    7. }
    1. I need the Instantiated object to move along the X-axis in a certain speed when the player is moving towards it.
    2. I need the trigger to turn off after the player reach it the first time, so the object wont Instantiate always the player steps on the trigger again and again.
    3. I need the Instantiated object to destroyed after reaching another trigger.
    4. Lastly, I need some text(like subtitles) to appear when entered a trigger. I realy hate using the GUIText option. Is there a way to do it with scripting?

How can I do these, please explain me step-by-step. I'm just a beginner in scripting. Thanks is Advance.

Edit:

1. Can I use "collider.isTrigger = true;" to "false" to turn off the trigger after entering the trigger for the first time? Please help me I'm just trying to learn.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  2. Ian094

Ian094

1. Create a script called "FigureScript" or something that adds X-axis movement to your figure gameObject.
    Something like this should work :
    Code (JavaScript):
    1. var speed = 10 //Set this to whatever
    2. transform.Translate(speed * Time.deltaTime,0,0);
    2. You can simply destroy the object, de-activate it or disable the script so that It wont execute.