Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Need Help With Teaching Resources for a High School Class!

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by zgumby85, Jun 26, 2013.

1. zgumby85

zgumby85

Hello all!

I am a High School IT Teacher, and I would love to introduce Unity into my classroom. Last year, I began to redesign the computer programming curriculum. I decided to base the new curriculum around game design, and it has proven to be a big success. Last year I taught beginning programming utilizing C# and XNA. This year, I would like to incorporate Unity into my Advanced Programming and Game design class. Thus, I need your help in putting together a resource I can use that contains lessons, projects, tutorials, etc..

I have a moderate knowledge of C# programming, but I am a beginner in all other aspects of game design. I am currently learning Unity through some of the tutorials on this website. This may give you some background about myself in order to help me in my current situation.

I lay myself at your feet. I have perused through the resources folders and tutorials, and some of them are really relevant, but I do not want my students watching Youtube videos all day (also, Youtube is blocked at our school district haha).

Is there some text tutorials/projects that you would recommend? How about a book (for beginners) that can be used as a supplement to projects and/or tutorials?

Do you recommend a certain teaching structure that would benefit my students? This is only my second year of teaching, and I want to make sure that my students are constantly engaged, and that the class is fun yet rewarding for them.

Anything that may be relevant to me would be great. I am just starting this journey, but I would like to have something put together that I could use by the time school starts in late August.