Search Unity

Need help with Animation.Play

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Miyyaa, Mar 30, 2015.

1. Miyyaa

Miyyaa

Hello :) I'm new to C# and was wondering if I could get some help. I'm going through a tutorial series right now and I'm having problems with part of my code in a script. I have set up the animation and the animation works but the script is to add a 3 second delay between animation reset. This is the error :
    Assets/Scripts/Trap.cs(16,35): error CS0120: An object reference is required to access non-static member `UnityEngine.Animation.Play()'

currently this is my code :

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

public class Trap : MonoBehaviour {
    public float delayTime;

// Use this for initialization
    void Start () {
    StartCoroutine (Go ());
    }

IEnumerator Go()
    {
    while(true)
    {
    Animation.Play ();
    yield return new WaitForSeconds(3f);
    }
    }

}

Animation auto-completes but the .Play after does not. The animation name is name is WallSpike. Really looking for some help here :(.

2. JustJeff

JustJeff

What your error is telling you is that it sees you're calling Animation.Play() but you're not calling it on any specific *object*'s animation so it doesn't know what to do or play.

Try doing GetComponent<Animation>().Play() and that will retrieve the animation attached to that class and play what it's set to :)

Miyyaa likes this.
  3. Miyyaa

Miyyaa

That worked perfectly!!!! Thank you so much for the help and explaining why it was wrong :)

4. JustJeff

JustJeff

You're very welcome--good luck! :)

5. Miyyaa

Miyyaa

While I have this thread going. Anyone know any good places to learn C#? Right now I'm using this tutorial series to make a game but if I run into a problem I tend to get stuck.

6. JustJeff

JustJeff