Search Unity

Need help with a sprite, Metal Slug style animation style

Discussion in '2D' started by Dr. Jade, Jul 22, 2014.

1. Dr. Jade

Dr. Jade

Edit: Just realized I put "style" twice in the title. My bad, please ignore the first one.

I've never been really good at explaining things, but I'll do my best.

What I want to do is create a 2D platformer-shooter with pixel art animations, very much like the Metal Slug games. However, I'm stuck in sprite creation. Metal Slug divides a character in half so each part can play a separate animation or so. For example, while the bottom half plays a run animation, the top can play a shooting animation, or a grenade throwing animation, or a reload animation, etc. But then, if you die or interact with some object, the sprite fuses into one piece and plays one animation. How can you replicate this in Unity? Any help would be appreciated, and clarification is always available.. as I said, I'm not very good at explaining things.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2014
  2. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Well...

As far as running a characters sprite as two (or more) separate sprites, not convenient at all. Seriously save yourself hassle and keep the characters animations all as one unless you have a darn good reason not too (which if you want to exactly emulate the style of metal slug then I guess that might be a good enough reason I am not intimately familiar with metal slug). I would stick one sprite sheet of every whole body animation set per character in, and then only use separate sprite for the weapons and stuff, nothing that is the character itself should be split up.

Now there is one case it would make sense having everything separate sprites, which is if the bodies "ragdoll" and have to dynamically interact with collisions. This makes sense using a separate sprite not just top and bottom but every limb.