Search Unity

Need Help Choosing a Server Solution

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by orionburcham, Sep 16, 2014.

1. orionburcham

orionburcham

Hello! I'm interested in adding online support to my game. Specifically, I want a system that lets me store & access user account information, asset bundles, and user save data. I'm new to the server game, and I could use some expert help picking out the right solution.

When I first started thinking about this, here's what I had in mind:

I would rent some cloud storage through a SaaS somewhere, add a MongoDB database, and have Unity access it by talking to a sever-side PHP script (to prevent direct access to the database over the internet).

That's all fine an dandy, but then I started looking into some MongoDB SaaS solutions, like MongoLab. This looks like a great service, but I don't see any way to host my PHP file on their severs, so I started imagining I would need to do this:

Here, I'm hosting the PHP script on my own server somewhere, and talking to MongoLab through their REST API. This just doesn't seem secure, since the PHP script isn't on the same server as the database. It's online requests can be intercepted, possibly allowing outside access to the database.

However, there seemed to be yet another issue: I'm not sure if it makes sense to store all my binary data (Unity Asset Bundles, user Save Games, etc.) directly inside my Mongo database. Maybe I should be storing those completely separately on a dedicated data server, and only storing links to them in my Mongo database? Something like this?:

Here, the PHP script is only asking the MongoLab database for the links it need to actually grab the needed AssetBundle file from my file server. All this before passing the AssetBundle back to Unity. This seems super shaky, since those links could change and my entire Mongo database would be out of sync.