my returns

Discussion in 'Flash Development' started by laurent.clave, May 3, 2012.

  1. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Hello,

    Currently working on a major project in flash with Unity, I give the bugs, problems and missing features:

    IMPORTANT missing features:

    - WWW
    - Convert.ToInt32 Method (String, Int32) (System)
    - Regular Expressions

    other missing features:
    - customize preloader
    - texture filtering
    - AA

    bugs :
    - black screen after preload
    - Texture compression is not perfect (artefact)

    Other :
    The size of .swf project...


    I'll update if you might be interested...
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  2. RalphH

    RalphH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    508
    - WWW
    Will be in the next public preview (together with AssetBundles)
    - Convert.ToInt32 Method (String, Int32) (System)
    Won't be in the next public preview, but will be implemented at some point after that. For now this would be a viable workaround;
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. static int ToInt(string s)
    3. {
    4.     return UnityEngine.Flash.ActionScript.Expression<int>("parseInt{0}",s);
    5. }
    6.  
    - Regular Expressions
    Won't be in a build anywhere soon; but here the Flash ActionScript bridge would do the trick.


    - customize preloader
    UnityShared.swc means you can make a custom preloader from scratch, however not embedded. Thinking about a nice solution for this, but it won't be in very soon.
    - texture filtering
    point sampling works in the next public preview
    - AA
    Works in the current version. In your project set QualitySetting.AntiAliasing directly in the Start of your project. In a later build it will be correctly initializing from qualitysettings.


    - black screen after preload
    As I mentioned in the other thread, the change in how stage3d is initialized in Flash 11.2 is not something we control; however, in the next build the preloader is removed before it goes black. We might improve by initializing later at a later point in time. You can however overlay the screen while using your own custom preloader which places an opaque display object over the scene.
    - Texture compression is not perfect (artefact)
    You can manually set the compression level if you go to the Flash specific inspector for the texture, drive it up to 100% and it will be lossless, and then you can preview directly in the editor by slowly tweaking it down and seeing the result.
  3. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Thank you for your answers;)
  4. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Hello,

    Other problems ...

    - Gui not working anymore in flash without any error message.
    - Many times in the IDE it works, export flash with no error message, but does not work on opening the index.html ...

    For debugging, it's very very hard ...
  5. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Hello.

    Missing important feature : string() with two argument

    The bug if the content of GUIText is too long : example (working in Unity, no working in flash export)
  6. RalphH

    RalphH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    508
    - Gui not working anymore in flash without any error message.
    Please provide more context, we can't reproduce based on this input.
    - Many times in the IDE it works, export flash with no error message, but does not work on opening the index.html ...
    We've changed the conversion error reporting, which will be better in the next build (ie, show warnings in unity)
    -Missing important feature : string() with two argument
    What constructor do you want to use ? Why ? Chances are a workaround is easy. (however, this is of course something at some point we'd like to fix).
  7. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Thank you for the info;)
    For the GUI, look at the example above. I've done a scene for that.
    For the constructor is String (char, int), this case is easy to create (for () loop) but I used often: D
  8. laurent.clave

    laurent.clave

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    And if you have time to tell me what happens in this post, I'm happy because I'm stuck on my project: (
    Is a bug ?