Search Unity

Multiple Playstation 3 Controllers on Mac OS for 2 Player Split Screen

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by jshmanz, Oct 25, 2010.

1. jshmanz

jshmanz

Hi, I'm a grad student working on a project with a partner in class to create a 2 player cooperative game. Our first play test occurred before I could figure out how to make controllers work properly and separately (I was tagging things correctly as far as I can tell - joystick 1 and joystick 2) and if I remapped the keys to keys on the keyboard everything worked right. But the controllers seemed to do the same thing for both players. I think I have figured out the issue - I have been using Playstation 3 controllers which work all right (the buttons do, the analog sticks I'm still having some confusion with but think a classmate gave me an idea that I must implement still) but do not establish themselves as controller 1 and controller 2, therefore, it seems, while I can map the x button to make player 1 jump, for example, both controllers can cause player 1 to jump if the x button is pressed and if the circle button is for player 2 to jump, both controllers can cause player 2 to jump if the circle button is pressed. I have talked to everyone I know that knows anything about Unity and nobody has had much experience with multiple controllers and therefore don't know how to help me out.
    Should I be giving up my PS3 controllers and finding other controllers? And which controllers will work on my mac (and my partner's pc) when using 2 controllers?