Search Unity

Mentoring programs?

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by jejacks0n, Apr 26, 2015.

1. jejacks0n

jejacks0n

I'm a full stack web developer and do a lot of open source work. At my company we also have a code mentoring program for people coming out of school, and so was thinking about this a bit as I've been learning unity for the past week or two.

I'm curious if there's official or unofficial mentoring programs for unity and related pipelines? A place where I can trade some knowledge that I possess (ruby, javascript, c#, good practices, etc.), to learn the process of modeling, rigging and animating. Both are non-trivial endeavors, take considerable work to be proficient in and often at considerable cost.

So I'm sitting here in Maya, learning how to rig a model that I purchased, having reasonable success, but still have a very weak grasp of some of the things that exist within it. Heh, like I just noticed the sculpting tab.

Anyway, there's great video tutorials online, but there's nothing like a good few hour long screen sharing session where another person teaches you something rad that's relevant to what you want to learn, and can answer questions about the process as they come up.

Would this be something others would be interested in? A system that can pair you up with someone that can teach you something you don't know, and that wants to learn something that you know -- or to people interested in mentoring others -- we've found that we actually learn a lot by mentoring others and so there's great value in doing it.

Thoughts? (intentionally did not create a poll)

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b